Awards & Scholarships

2017 M&M Student Scholars

Below are listed M&M Student Scholars funded by MSA. For a list of MAS-funded M&M Student Scholars, click here.


Jay Aindow* — Academy of Aerospace and Engineering
Eutectic Solidification in Zn-Sn Binary Alloys: An Experiment for High Schools
*MSA K-12 Student Scholarship

Marwa Belhaj — University of South Carolina
Alginate Microcapsule Technology and Impacts on Cell Therapy Development

Gabriel A. Calderon Ortiz — The Ohio State University
Determining Nanoscale Molecular Ordering in Semiconducting Polymers

Allessandra DiCorato — Northwestern University
A Correlative Cryo-Fluorescence and CryoSEM Approach for Visualizing Nanomaterials in Glioblastoma Tissue

Ismail El Baggari — Cornell University
Emergent Phase Coherence of Stripe Order in Manganites Revealed with Cryogenic Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy

Bryan D. Esser — The Ohio State University
Structural and Magnetic Characterization of B20 Skyrmion Thin Films and Heterostructures using Aberration-Corrected Lorentz TEM and Differential Phase Contrast STEM

Everett D. Grimley — North Carolina State University
Compositional Ordering and Polar Nano-Regions: Physical Effects of Sn Alloying in SrTiO3 Thin Films

Diane M. Haiber — Arizona State University
Monochromated EELS and Optical Spectroscopy of Layered Carbon Nitrides

Liang Hong — University of Illinois at Chicago
In-situ STEM-EELS Observation of Ferroelectric Switching of BaTiO3 Film on GaAs

Yi Jiang — Cornell University
Enhanced Resolution from Full-Field Ptychography with an Electron Microscope Pixel Array Detector

Takaaki Kinoshita — Soka University, Japan
The Atmospheric Scanning Electron Microscope (ASEM) Observes the Axonal Compartmentalization and Microtubule Formation in Neurons

James L. Kizziah — University of Alabama at Birmingham
Structure and Function of the Staphylococcus aureus Bacteriophage 80α Baseplate

Prashant Kumar — University of Minnesota
Early Growth Stages of Directly Synthesized Large-Area Zeolite Nanosheets

Jiayao Li — Monash University, Australia
Nanoindentation on Graphene Encapsulated Single Cells

Alexandra J. Machen — University of Kansas Medical Center
Single Particle CryoEM of the Anthrax Toxin Initial Engagement Complex

Vinal Menon — University of South Carolina
Molecular Consequences of Cardiac Valve Development as a Result of Altered Hemodynamics

Katerina Naydenova — MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, United Kingdom
Efficient Cryo-EM: Measuring Effects of Particle Orientation in Electron Microscopy

S. M. Bukola Obayomi — Arizona State University
Imaging Live Uterine Tissue Modulation using Confocal Microscopy

Katherine A. Spoth — Cornell University
Dose-Efficient Cryo-STEM Imaging of Whole Cells using the Electron Microscope Pixel Array Detector

Congli Sun — University of Wisconsin-Madison
Identification and Quantification of Boron Dopant Sites in Antiferromagnetic Cr2O3 Films by Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy

Aakash M. Varambhia — University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Quantitative STEM of Catalyst Nanoparticles using ADF Imaging with Simultaneous EDS and EELS Spectroscopy

Kartik Venkatraman — Arizona State University
Probing Interfacial and Surface Effects with Vibrational Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy

HsinWei Wu — Arizona State University
Aberration-corrected STEM Imaging and EELS Mapping of BaTiO3/SrTiO3 Interfacial Defects

Jie E. Yang* — Boston University School of Medicine
Cryo-electron Tomography Analysis of Infectious Extracellular Vesicles from a Non-enveloped RNA Virus
*Raleigh & Clara Miller Memorial Scholarship

Chenyu Zhang — University of Wisconsin-Madison
Joint Denoising and Distortion Correction for Atomic Column Detection in Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy Images

Pei Zhang — University of Wisconsin-Madison
Atomic-scale Relaxation Dynamics in the Supercooled Liquid State of a Metallic Glass Nanowire by Electron Correlation Microscopy

Yong Zhang — Monash University, Australia
Structure and Function of Nano-sized InSb Precipitate Embedded in an Al Alloy