Awards & Scholarships

2020 Undergraduate Scholarship Awardees


Hannah Ball – University of Arizona
"Expansion Microscopy to decipher metabolic defects at the synapse in a Drosophila model on ALS based on TDP-43"

Sam Beckley – Clemson University
"Investigation of Lithium Ion Electrodes and Interfaces using Cryo-Electron Microscopy"

Chris Blackwell – Ohio State University
"Investigation of Microstructural Variance throughout Additively Manufactured Inconel 738 Buids"

Madison Cox – University of North Carolina at Wilmington
"Assessing the potential for mixotrophic and phagocytotic behavior in coccolithophores"

Jason Luong – University of California, Irvine
"Electron microscopy study of oxide thin film synthesis and processing by pulsed laser deposition on ultrathin substrates”

Jairo Orea – University of Connecticut
"Analyzing Converging Auditory Projections to the Lateral Amygdala Using Focused Ion Beam- Scanning Electron Microscopy (FIB-SEM): An Anterograde Double-Labeling Study"

Alyssa Peterson – University of Arizona
"The role of regulatory proteins in micropyle formation within Aedes aegypti mosquito eggshells"

Nidhish Sagar – Indian Institute of Science
"Algorithm for detection and tracking of grain boundaries in Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (STEM) videos of polycrystalline materials"

William Xu – Cornell University
"Cryo-Electron Tomography of Alkaline Anion Exchange Polymer Membranes for Application in Fuel Cells"