Awards & Scholarships

2019 Hildegard H. Crowley Award

Matthew S. Joens
Washington University School of Medicine

Matthew is an analytical chemist by undergraduate training and has over 10 years of electron microscopy experience. His introduction into microscopy included internships at the University of California – San Diego (UCSD) with Dr. Timothy Baker, one of the founding fathers of cryo-electron microscopy, and with the National Center for Microscopy Imaging Research (NCMIR), a NIH funded lab headed by Dr. Mark Ellisman. Following these internships, he moved to the Salk Institute for Biological Studies where he worked with Dr. James Fitzpatrick to establish and grow the electron microscopy division of the Waitt Advanced Biophotonics Center. Matthew was later recruited by Dr. Fitzpatrick to help build the Center for Cellular Imaging at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. His background includes extensive experience with cryo sample preparation, immunolabeling, 3D electron microscopy, and selective staining chemistries. His main interests are in correlative sample preparation and imaging techniques, spanning light, x-ray, ion, and electron microscopies.

Back to award winners