Awards & Scholarships

2018 Distinguished Scientist - Biological Sciences

Richard Leapman
National Institutes for Health

Richard Leapman obtained his B.A. and M.A. degrees in Natural Sciences, and his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Cambridge. He trained as a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Materials at the University of Oxford, and then under the mentorship of Prof. John Silcox in the Department of Applied and Engineering Physics at Cornell University, where he contributed to the development of electron spectroscopy for the nanoscale characterization of materials. Dr. Leapman subsequently moved to NIH to develop methods based on scanning transmission electron microscopy and electron spectroscopy to determine the structure and chemical composition of cells and supramolecular assemblies. More recently, his group has developed techniques based on STEM tomography for determining 3D ultrastructure in thick sections of cells, as well as serial block face SEM approaches for determining nanoscale tissue architecture. Dr. Leapman received the Burton Medal from the Microscopy Society of America, the Samuel Wesley Stratton Award from the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the Presidential Science Award from the Microbeam Analysis Society. He was elected a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America in 2011. He is currently Editor of the Journal of Microscopy (Oxford), a member of the editorial boards of other microscopy and nanotechnology journals, and has served on national scientific advisory committees, including the one for the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory. Dr. Leapman has served as the Scientific Director of the intramural program of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering since 2006, and also heads NIBIB’s Laboratory of Cellular Imaging and Macromolecular Biophysics.

Back to award winners