Awards & Scholarships

2017 Distinguished Scientist - Physical Sciences

Nestor J. Zaluzec
Argonne National Laboratory

A Fellow of both Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the Computational Institute of the University of Chicago, Zaluzec has and continues to hold the tripartite role of Senior Scientist, Educator and Inventor at Argonne National Laboratory. As an innovator, his research includes development of instrumentation and techniques for state-of-the-art analysis in x-ray and electron spectroscopy, as well as electron optics, targeted toward expanding the impact of electron-optical beam lines for characterization of soft and hard matter in both static and dynamic states. In addition to creating tools for science, as a researcher he also wields these bleeding edge technologies with collaborators to study vexing problems in technologically important materials. Over the last 40 years, this research has included studies of: structural phase transformations, radiation damage in metals and ceramics, immobilization of nuclear waste, magnetic nano-arrays, elemental segregation in: alloys, semiconductors, polymers, and catalysts; in vacuum, gases and liquids. He is now expanding his interests into the realm of soft-matter and cryo-microscopy of proteins and macromolecules. One of the earliest to realize the impact of the Internet he established the TelePresence Microscopy Collaboratory, which served as a early model for outreach to the community providing unencumbered access to scientific resources. For the last quarter of a century, he has also presided over the Microscopy Listserver, a communication forum that links over four thousand microscopists and microanalysts worldwide. In addition to his prior and current adjunct and visiting professorial appointments at universities (IIT, UIUC, UIC, NIU, Manchester), he is also a member of several professional societies (MSA, MAS, MSC/SMC, ACMM, EMS, and MMMS) and has held various roles therein. He also engages the next generation of scientists through his work with middle and high school students via the Illinois Junior Academy of Science.

Back to award winners