Awards & Scholarships

2020 Distinguished Scientist - Physical Sciences

David N. Seidman
Northwestern University

David Seidman is currently the W.P. Murphy professor of materials science and engineering at Northwestern University. He did his PhD studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with Robert Balluffi. He is a pioneer in the development and application of field-ion microscopy, atom-probe field-ion microscopy and atom-probe tomography to a wide range of physical and engineering problems, which require a knowledge of chemistry on nanoscale to sub-nanoscale lengths in conjunction with a high spatial-resolution. He has utilized these techniques correlatively with state-of-the art electron-optical microscopes. Additionally, he has utilized simulations (Monte Carlo and lattice-kinetic Monte Carlo) for interpreting the experimental observations to attain detailed physical pictures of all the phenomena he has studied. He also founded the Northwestern University Center for Atom-Probe Tomography (2004). He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and is a fellow of the Microscopy Society of America, the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. He received a Max-Planck Research Prize with the late professor Peter Haasen, and also the Gold Medal of ASM International.

Back to award winners