Awards & Scholarships

2017 Morton D. Maser Award

David W. Tomlin
Azimuth Corporation

Dave Tomlin has been a member of MSA since 1999. He has served as: Chair of the Education Committee (2013-2015), MegaBooth Committee member (2003-2014), Coordinator of the MegaBooth (2015-present), Placement Office Co-Chair (2012-2014), Placement Office Chair (2015-present), Director-Local Affiliated Societies (2009-2011), Symposium Organizer and Session Chair (2007), MSA Logo and Website Redesign Team (2009), Website Redesign Team (2015) and is a Technologist Forum member. He is also an active member of his local affiliate society, the Microscopy Society of the Ohio River Valley (MSORV) where he is currently the webmaster and is finishing his second year as President. He has also served as Chair, Bulletin Editor, Webmaster and Treasurer for the Dayton Local Section of the American Chemical Society. Dave has also been active in his local community, where he served on the board of the local youth soccer program, was the Committee and Advancement Chair for BSA Troop 114, and for the last 7 years he has served as President and Treasurer of the Tri-County North Band Boosters.

Dave received his B.S. in Chemistry (1985) and Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry (1990), both from Miami University in Oxford, OH. While completing his doctorate, he held a Department of Energy Research Participation Fellowship (1986-1990) at the EG&G Mound Labs, Miamisburg, OH. He also held a National Research Council Post-Doctoral Fellowship (1991-1993) at the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC. For the last 22 years he has been at the Air Force Research Laboratory, Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. His research interests are focused on utilizing optical, confocal, electron and ion beam microscopies, to investigate failures in semiconductor and electronic devices.

Back to award winners